If you live in Marion county you can get a new license for your dog or renew an existing license with us. There is no additional charge, and you can receive license tag the same day your dog is vaccinated. Other options for licensing include:
Print out an application for new licenses and mail to the Dog Shelter or bring to either location
Purchase a license at the Marion County Dog Shelter located at 3550 Aumsville Hwy. SE, Salem Oregon 97317 Tuesday thru Saturday, 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Purchase a license at Public Works located at: 5155 Silverton Road NE, Salem, Oregon 97305 Monday thru Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Why should I purchase a license and have my dog wear it?
It's the law. Under ORS 609.100, all dogs in Marion County that meet the age and/or residency requirements must be licensed.
A lost dog can be identified by the license and brought home.
If you are not home and your dog is impounded, we can notify you.
If a dog bites and has a current rabies shot and license, it can be kept at home for observation, preventing costly impound fees.
If your dog is injured and needs immediate authorization for medical procedures through a veterinarian, we can run your dog's license and contact you at the emergency number you provided us when you licensed the dog.
If you are traveling and have a car accident, sometimes the dog is thrown clear, to possibly end up lost in another state. A dog license can be traced from anywhere, at any time. With the emergency contact number you provided when you licensed the dog, we can contact someone to retrieve your dog.
Failure to license your dog can result in a citation. A license on your dog helps the state regulate the assured compliance of the Rabies Ordinance established for the health and welfare of your community.
How much does it cost? 1 year period2 year period 3 year period Non-Neutered Dog: $32 $61 $90 Neutered Dog: $17 $31 $45 Neutered Dog Owned by Senior (65 or over)*: $5 $10 $15 *For this discount, proof of age will be required, such as a driver's license. Late penalty $ 10.00 Late penalties may be assessed for failure to purchase on time, along with a court fine up to $360.
A valid rabies certificate, issued and signed by a licensed veterinarian, is required at the the time of licensing.
The expiration date on the dog license cannot exceed the expiration date of the rabies certificate by more than two months.
Dog licenses may be purchased for one, two, or three years at a time. Rabies certificates must be valid for the same period of time as the license.
Dog licenses expire one (1) year from the month of purchase unless the shot expires before then or the owner chooses to purchase a license for two (2) or three (3) years.
For neutered dogs, a spay-neuter certificate is required.
Dog Control is financed from dog license fees. With these funds, Dog Control investigates complaints such as loose or lost dogs, dogs in traffic, dogs killing livestock or domestic pets, dog bites, injured dogs, and many other problems.